/home/karthik/blog

KompazzVG – An Open source OpenVG implementation

Posted in kompazz, kompazzvg, Linux, navigation by Karthik Murugesan on March 25, 2008

For my Kompazz project, I was looking for an open source 2D graphics rendering engine that can render high quality vector graphics images and can support both software and hardware based rendering. But after googling for quite a long time, I found, Cairo and AGG are the only implementations that can cater my requirements.

While Cairo can support both hardware and software based rendering, Cairo’s software renderer performance is really very bad. While the AGG’s software renderer can provide a decent performance, AGG doesnt support any hardware based rendering.

Since the initial versions of the Kompazz will only use the software based renderers, I decided to go with AGG but I wanted the flexibility of using hardware based renderer later. So instead using AGG directly, I have decided to create a new project KompazzVG, which will be an opensource OpenVG implementation based on AGG. Currently KompazzVG will not be a complete implementation of OpenVG and I will implement only the features/APIs required for my Kompazz project.

As usual, I am open for any suggestions/contributions.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mirknac said, on March 28, 2008 at 8:40 am

    Where are source available to be downloaded?

  2. Karthik Murugesan said, on March 29, 2008 at 4:42 am

    I have not released the source code yet. Will upload it sometime in April and announce it in my blog.

  3. Mrgoos said, on April 9, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Looking forward to see it.
    Thanks.

  4. Kaushal said, on July 26, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Could you plz check
    http://www.kevlindev.com/geometry/2D/intersections/index.htm

    Kaushal


Leave a comment